Freitag, 12. Juni 2015

Tales of mead and meat

another two days passed and a lot of things happened.. really amazing, how intense life can be! (lot better than being stuck in this everyday life where days fly by and you don't know what you accomplished). So I got up really early and figured a way to get to the prison island "Mamula". In the beginning, I wasn't sure if you can walk around on the island and where and how I should charter a boat, but then it all worked out. Found the port (after lots of asking and driving around), a suitable parking spot for the bike, had breakfast at the peer (these people don't have prober breakfasts.. horrible.. just coffee-bars, where they have coffee and a probably some Raki). Got supplies for the day and found a guy who has a boat and does the trip. It's smaller than I pictured it, but it has some great rooms that are just perfect for playing didgeridoo ;) It's not exactly like Alcatraz, but nevertheless I will camp out a night on it when I get back to Montenegro! :) After that we wen't to the "blue grotto" where some of us jumped off the boat to take a swim (me too). There was a boat packed with Polish girls (I'm sure the boat was not made for that many passengers) and they dropped a cellphone into the sea. I was about to dive it up as our captain steered his boat out of the grotto and left me behind :P ..told me that he's doing this job for 35 years, but after that I wondered how many customers he left there ;) maybe he should do a headcount (we were 9 ppl on that boat :P  anyway, the Polish girls would have saved me, but then he turned around (still didn't pay by then). ..maybe he should have left me with the Polish girls ;)
the rest was being on a rocky beach where I did some practice with sticks and balls to be ready for the performing act at the parties in Switzerland. Looking forward to that! :D (and feels graet to be a "famous" performer  in the scene ;). I made some Serbian-Montenegrino friends and we had fun drinking together ;) ..oh.. btw: I figured out that Montenegro is NOT part of the EU :P (they just use the Euro.. guess never stop learning ;)
Serviced my bike on the way back (oil change, chain tension, air pressure.. the usual stuff) and was excercising when I got back to the campsite. Had dinner with a guy from Portugal that is also traveling on a bike on his own. Quickly gave up speaking Portuguese, as I was too tired and lacked practice lately. But still understood each other pretty well :)
This morning I packed up very early and took the ferry to the other side of the bay (as I was already driving around it and didn't find it sooo spectacular, taking the ferry at the most narrow part was a good alternative. In Kotor and needed to ask around a bit until I could leave my bike and stuff with the fruit sellers on the market. I crossed the old town (pretty big for an old town, but stuffed with touristy shops) and climbed up to the fortress. There are a lot of steps, but for someone in good shape (like me ;) it didn't take that long. Was nice to see the light of the rising sun covering the bay and took some nice pictures on top. Then someone told me about a trail going back down to town that starts behind the fortress. I found it and descended this way, what entirely saved me the admission fee ;) (when I was going up, there was no one collecting money downstairs). I drove back up the serpentines and this time the view was better (less hazy). Continued to Cetine. Stopped along the way for coffee and a sandwich with home made cheese and ham (delicious!) and bought a bottle of mead and some dried meat. Drove on to the Podgorica (the capital.. felt as I never heard this name before), where I tried to get a new chain for my bike, as the one on it might be still the first one (then it would have 36 000 km.. :/ but I couldn't get one at the shop. So the actual chain will have to do it still a bit longer. Will also check in Sarajevo.. hope can find one along the way! From Podgorica the old road to Matesevo and Kolasin.. felt like a thousand curves to get there ;) got a bit tired along the way and stopped at a place where people were drinking beer and Raki. Got invited for a strong turkish coffee (that was so thick that I could chew on it ;) and felt energized again! Would have filled my water too, but where the water was dripping out of a stone, they had a leave that served as funnel and somehow little black larves got into my camel pac. Probably would just have been proteines and digestable, but I didn't feel like trying it out ;)
As it looked like a nice road through the natural park Biagradska Gora and was not too late, I decided to make a little detour. But the map (as usual) turned out to be wrong. So I ended up on a dirttrail to some abandoned Eco camps. Met a local guy in a shut down ski resort that told me it's possible to drive to that lake in the park. When I made it further uphill, the road was covered by a snow patch. The last time I encountered such an obstacle, I took the stupid decision to ride directly at it (was a deep river and drowned my bike then). This time it would have slided down and I could have kissed it good bye :P Instead of listening to the signs and to turn around, I continued a bit further up and found tracks from a car that went straight across along the slope above the snowy patch. So after checking the ground, I did the same and it just worked out fine (never underestimate a Yamaha Tenere! ;) the guy told me approx. 30km to the lake and it was another leap of faith, as I didn't really know how this will end and if other people do this track (at least not on a bike). But then universe helped me by sending some trackers along my way and they told me that the road will be OK. In the end it were only 20km and half a dozen people was walking on that trail (would just have sucked to get the bike out if something would have failed.. like the chain or a flat tire or driving off the slope). But yes.. nothing happened and it was a nice ride (even when mostly observing the road ahead of me and being aware that a break down would be shitty out here). Then I made it to the lake and decided not to camp there but drive on (having another boost of energy after I made it that far ;) and found now a room for 15 Euro, where I can catch up with blog and pics and feasted on mead and meat. Tomorrow it's just a stone throw to the place where you can zipline over tara-canyon (or at least so I heard) and then do some horseback riding. I'll figure it all out tomorrow.. right now nothing else to do than having a shower, watching TV and getting drunk ;)

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen