Sonntag, 14. Juni 2015

Life is a beach ;)

ziplined - check - horseback riding - check - deep water solo climb - missed - skydiving - depends on weather the next days.
Yes.. I truly can't complain. So far, so good! :)
I passed that zipline place just when they started in the morning and had a (fun!) ride over the Tara canyon, before heading on to Zabljak and trying to find out where to mount a horse. I didn't find the tourist information (probably just closed), but ended up in a bar where I got invited a turkish coffee (happens a lot in Montenegro ;) and one of the clients organized the ride (didn't really figure out how he knew these people, but probably his brother ;). No one spoke English, but with some signs we agreed on time and price and I could pick a horse. The first one they gave me was a young (and wild tempered) stallion that just wanted to run. I really hold these reins tight.. so tight my arm was hurting after a few minutes, but I couldn't control that beast. So it started running with me across the meadow towards a steep slope (I saw myself already flying), but then I could turn it around and it ran all the way back to the barb wired corner of the fence (where again I thought this might end badly), but then it stopped and they gave me another horse (a pretty slow one ;). I probably would have had to tear more on that reins, but I was afraid it would rear up and throw me off. Next time I'll be mercyless if a horse tries to burn-out with me! :P
It was a lovely ride out and instead of going with one guide and two horses, it were 3 guides and 5 horses ;) I'll go back to this place the next time I get to Montenegro for sure! Then I'll also handle that wild stallion ;) Was again invited for some coffee and raki and listened to some local folk music (grandpa sang a song :)
It was already a couple of years ago that I was riding, but in the end I got pretty much into it again (always have to get a feeling for the trot). Compared with a bike, where every bike from the same model handles the same, there are no two same horses on this planet (they might be similar, but not exactly the same.. they all have their character). So you can't expect the horse will just be happy to have you on it's back and read all your thoughts ;) In the end I got even to ride a third horse that would also have been a good choice. Should really go riding more often! ..on the other hand, my body is still sore from these two hours (and it was only a single HP ;) I'm much better handling my 47 HP where I can sit in the saddle for 10 hours and walk away with a smile ;)
It was only three o'clock in the afternoon and I figured that I can make it to Sarajevo this very day. It turned out to be a pretty long ride.. first through the Durmitor National Park and then along the Pluzine canyon. When I crossed over to Bosnia, it was still a 100km to go and before I reached Sarajevo, I ran into heavy rain (I should have circeled around it, as there was blue sky behind me and left of me). I drove in it, turned around and drove a few hundred meters back and put my rain gear on. It took me longer than the actual rain, but without it, I would have been wet to the bones. It was a long day and I was really tired when I got to Sarajevo. After asking around, I found a nice and affordable place in the center, eat some local food and wanted only to pass out on my bed, what I successfully did. That horseback riding grinded my completely! :P
Sarajevo would probably hold more things, but it would be nicer to be there with friends. Then you can hang out in a hookah-lounge and go partying at night ;) The old town is also quite touristy, but I didn't really mind (after such a long day, it just felt good to have arrived somewhere).
The next morning I checked for deep water solo climing in Croatia and found a place called "the split" that looked very promising. So I started early (slept long enough) and made my way from Bosnia to Croatia. The boarder crossing took as usual not more than 5 minutes (it's so easy nowadays.. and no one would ever want to check my stuff). I also made close to 300km today and when I had to choice between 10km through a tunnel and 10km on the highway, I chose the highway.. unfortunately, I took the wrong turn off and rode 15km in the wrong direction, before I could turn around.. so it where 40km of highway after all :P Then finally I could make my way to the sea again. It was actually pretty lovely in the beginning, but then there were too many houses and towns along the road (can't imagine, why someone would want to build houses on the sea instead of having a gorgeous road to ride ;). So for tomorrow I will leave the sea and seek out some curvy mountain roads ;) the highlight will be the Plitvicer lakes (known from the Winnetou-movies) and tomorrow night, I will spend the night in Slovenia. If the weather changes for the better, I will even be able to skydive on this trip, but so far the conditions don't look too promising.
as for Split, it turned out to be a bigger (and very touristy) city and the place where I asked to stay on the beach was 100 Euro :( There would have been a hostel (probably fun people there), but the catch was that is was sited in the middle of the pedestrian zone. So I would have had to walk twice 800m with luggage (I start sweating after 10-12 steps when carrying my stuff :P so I left Split and abandonned my plans for bouldering. Drove on and on and finally found a place for 20 Euro. It's a lovely room, but I'm alone in this building.. at least I have time for pictures and blog. First I was at an abandonned camp site and then I asked for a cheap room and it would have been 50 Euros. So I just rephrased the question the next time and asked for a 20 Euro room ;)
was in no mood to check that town here nearby.. Trogir.. that's between the mainland and this pretty big island here. I feel that this trip is coming to an end and that I've seen and done a lot and ridden bike even more. So the only thing left is getting back home in one piece and eventually to get a new transmission chain along the way. If skydiving isn't happening, then I could even be back by Thursday (seems a day early to me, but why not.. probably figure out what to do with my time and if it's only lying in my own bed and chilling out! ;D haha.. oh yes, I'd like that! 

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen